Brookings


The Brookings Area Music Teachers Association (BMTA) joined SDMTA and MTNA in March 1996. A majority of BMTA’s approximately twenty members are piano teachers, and of those, several double in a second medium. These versatile members also teach organ, voice, and childhood music, including Kindermusik.

The Brookings Music Teachers Association will meet at noon at the Mission Coffeehouse at First Lutheran Church on the following dates:

  • Thursday September 1, 2016
  • Friday October 7, 2016 or Friday October 14, 2016
  • Thursday November 3, 2016
  • Thursday December 1, 2016
  • Friday January 13, 2017
  • Friday February 17, 2017
  • Friday March 17, 2017 (Parlor by the offices)
  • Friday April 21,2017
  • Friday May 19, 2017 or TBD
  • Download the BMTA Calendar of events here!
Event Date Location
BMTA Saturday Morning Halloween Recitals October 29, 2016
10:00 a.m. & 11:00 a.m.
Lincoln Music Hall, SDSU
Piano Carnival November 19, 2016
8:00 a.m. - 1:00 p.m.
Lincoln Music Hall, SDSU
Santa Event Monday December 19, 2016
5:00 - 7:30 p.m.
McCrory Gardens
BMTA Saturday Morning "I'm Sick of Winter" Recital February 18, 2017
10:00 a.m.
Lincoln Music Hall, SDSU
Piano Festival Saturday March 4, 2017 Lincoln Music Hall, SDSU
Piano Festival Make-ups Friday March 10, 2017
4:00 - 7:00 p.m.
Lincoln Music Hall, SDSU
BMTA Saturday Morning Recital April 22, 2017
10:00 a.m.
Lincoln Music Hall, SDSU
  • President: Diana Christiansen

  • Vice President: Mary Walker

  • Secretary: Joan Riessen

  • Treasurer: Bethany Foote

  • Piano Festival Chair: Tammy Knudtson

  • Piano Carnival Chair: Deb Kalsbeck

BMTA Student Composition Recital