MTNA Foundation

The MTNA Foundation was established to support the aims of the Music Teachers National Association. It offers an opportunity for philanthropic giving to support the organization’s goals. The fund supports many of the national competitions, as you will see as you page through this booklet. The Foundation also supports teacher enrichment grants and local association grants, and has a fellowship program to encourage and enable young teachers in independent music teaching studios.

The MTNA Foundation is committed to keeping America’s musical future alive for succeeding generations by supporting programs that demonstrate the value and enhance public understanding of the music teaching profession. The MTNA Foundation supports comprehensive programs that nurture the creation, performance, study, and teaching of music.

Foundation Fellow

Susan Gray

Dr. Susan Gray
2021 South Dakota Foundation Fellow

Susan Keith Gray - 2021 Foundation Fellow! Susan has been a long-time MTNA member, and for over 20 years continuously serving the organization in South Dakota. An acclaimed performer and teacher, Susan Keith Gray teaches piano and pedagogy and founded and directs the graduate program in Collaborative Piano at The University of South Dakota. She has performed on five continents with esteemed artists including longtime collaborators in the Rawlins Piano Trio and the Kobayashi/Gray (violin and piano) Duo. Performance specialties of her nine CD recordings include music of women composers, American piano trios and African-American Art Song. Currently serving as secretary of the South Dakota Music Teachers Association, she has also served as the state’s Vice President, Competitions Chair and President.

The Music Teachers National Association (MTNA) Fellow program offers a meaningful method for honoring deserving individuals while supporting the efforts of the MTNA Foundation Fund through a donation to the Foundation Fund in an individual’s name. To designate a Fellow, a contribution of $1000 or more, along with a completed MTNA Fellow Information Form must be submitted to MTNA. The funds may come from one individual’s donation or from a group of persons wishing to confer this special honor upon a colleague.

Each year new MTNA Fellows are recognized at the MTNA national conference. Fellows receive a complimentary ticket to the Gala, an attractive MTNA Fellow certificate and pin. Also, new Fellows are prominently recognized in American Music Teacher magazine, and their names will appear on a plaque located at the MTNA national headquarters. SDMTA currently has seven MTNA Foundation Fellows: Dr. David Piersel, Arlene Krueger, Ilene Sharkey, Alyce Berggren and Cheryl Koch, Marcela Faflak, Janeen Larsen, and Susanne Skyrm The Foundation Committee has decided to go to a biennial plan, thus nominating a Fellow from South Dakota every two years instead of annually. This will give us a little extra time to raise funds and allow donors to spread out their contributions over two years.